• 24 Jun, 2024

The role of Indo-Trinidadians in achieving Independence for Trinidad and Tobago in 1962

The role of Indo-Trinidadians in achieving Independence  for Trinidad and Tobago in 1962

The role of Indo-Trinidadians in achieving Independence for Trinidad and Tobago in 1962 INVITATION TO OUR 117th ICC ZOOM PUBLIC MEETING

This month, Trinidad and Tobago celebrates its 60th anniversary of political independence from Great Britain, an event which took place on 31 August 1962. Prior to independence, the country was a British colony. At midnight on the 30 August, the British flag (the Union Jack) was lowered, and the red, white and black Trinidad and Tobago flag was raised for the first time. Bells tolled and sirens rang out to herald the birth of a new, independent nation. There were representatives from over 50 nations present for this historic occasion including the Queen’s representative Her Royal Highness The Princess Royal who read the message sent by Queen Elizabeth II.  

Of Chinese origin, Sir Solomon Hochoy was appointed as the country’s first Governor-General. Afro-Trinidadian Dr. Eric Williams was appointed the Prime Minister, with his People’s National Movement (PNM) forming the first independent Government. But what of Indo-Trinidadians, who formed the second-largest ethnic group in the twin-island? What role did their political leaders play in achieving independence for Trinidad and Tobago in 1962? Should Dr. Eric Williams alone be given credit? Who were the unsung heroes of the Indian community who helped place safeguards in the Independent Constitution to provide equal opportunity for Indo-Trinidadians as a political minority?   



For 60 years, the name of Opposition Democratic Labour Party (DLP) leader Dr. Rudranath Capildeo has hardly even been mentioned. What of the role of Ashford Shastri Sinanan, Opposition Leader of the Federal Parliament (1958–1961)? And Tajmool Hosein, Lionel Frank Seukeran, Stephen Maharaj, Simboonath Capildeo, Vernon Jamadar, H.P. Singh, Rampersad Bholai, Balgobin Ramdeen and Jang Bahadoorsingh?  

Please join us THIS SUNDAY for the 117th weekly ICC ZOOM Public Meeting, August 28, 2022 at (1.00 p.m. Belize), (3.00 p.m. New York/Eastern time), (3.00 p.m. Trinidad/Atlantic time), (3.00 p.m. Guyana), (4.00 p.m. Suriname), (8.00 p.m. England), (9.00 p.m. South Africa), (Sun 12 midnight, India, ND), (Mon 7.00 a.m. Fiji).   


The role of Indo-Trinidadians in achieving Independence for Trinidad and Tobago in 1962


DR. JOHN BHARATH - Retired dental surgeon. Former Member of Parliament (MP) for St Augustine (1966-1971) under leader Dr. Rudranath Capildeo of the Opposition DLP.

PROF. BRINSLEY SAMAROO - Professor Emeritus of History at the University of the West Indies (UWI). Former senator, minister and MP in the Government of Trinidad and Tobago.

ATTORNEY LEELA RAMDEEN - Daughter of Balgobin Ramdeen, former MP in the first Independent Parliament for the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) for Caroni East from 1961 to 1966.

DR. KIRK MEIGHOO - Former university lecturer of political science, and former temporary independent senator; now PRO of the Opposition United National Congress (UNC).

Followed by Q&A    

Join Zoom Meeting THIS SUNDAY by touching or clicking on this link:   


ZOOM Meeting ID: 874 2137 8683   

No Passcode Needed   

Find your local number:  https://us02web.zoom.us/u/kb8rj8w2sF   

Live-streamed on the YouTube channel of the Indo-Caribbean Cultural Centre   


Hosted by  www.indocaribbeanpublications.com  

WhatsApp +1 868 756 4961 or +1 868 381 0386   

indocaribbeanstaff@gmail.com dmahabir@gmail.com